Gina Bonnano introducing the first class of Pedrozzi Young Scholars

The multi-purpose room was buzzing with excitement as friends, family and supporters gathered for the 6th Annual Pedrozzi Young Scholar Family Social the evening of March 2, 2023. The evening was filled with food, games, and family fun. We were thrilled to see the room filled with so many Pedrozzi Young Scholars, their families, and many PYS Program supporters! There are currently seven cohorts of Pedrozzi Young Scholars, one cohort per each secondary, 6th-12th, grade. The majority of our Pedrozzi Young Scholars attended, along with family members (parents, guardians, grandparents, and siblings); in total, over 100 people from the Pedrozzi Young Scholar program enjoyed this fun family event. Guests enjoyed socializing during dinner and dessert and had fun playing a game of Pedrozzi Young Scholar bingo, giant Jenga, and more!


Graduating students: L-R Lourdes Magaña, Cesar Gutierrez, Anthony Martinez, Trish Pedeglorio, and Saray Espinosa. Not pictured: Mariana Gutierrez and Mailyah Rivera

This Pedrozzi Young Scholar Family Social was extra special as we recognized our first graduating class of Pedrozzi Young Scholars, our 2016 Cohort, now High School Seniors and members of the Class of 2023! These students have been in the Pedrozzi Young Scholar Program since 6th grade. Gina Bonnano, Past Pedrozzi Board Member, current Pedrozzi Young Scholar Working Group Member, and also one of the founders of the Pedrozzi Young Scholars Program, was honored to introduce our 2023 Pedrozzi Young Scholar graduates.





We appreciate the support from our community members and partners including LVJUSD and Quest Science Center. Over 20 guests attended, including many representing LVJUSD: Superintendent Chis Van Schaack, Assistant Superintendents Kelly Manke and Melissa Theide, School Board Members Kristy Wang and Emily Prusso, and Marylin Avenue School 5th grade teachers Jennifer Pennybacker and Heidi Robinson. Guests also included members from Quest Science Center: CEO Monya Lane, Board Members Vaughn Draggoo and Rick Stulen, and Chief Learning Officer Caleb Cheung. From the Pedrozzi Foundation, Board President Sharon Draggoo, Board Members Monica Moya and John Williams, Past Board Member Gina Bonanno and Pedrozzi staff and volunteers also joined in the festivities.


PYS Jose, Red, Seth and guest

PYS Jose, Red, and Isaac, and guest Diego

PYS Christopher. Yaney and Guillermo