The newest Pedrozzi Young Scholars, along with family and friends, were excited to return to the Bankhead Theater in downtown Livermore for the Foundation’s annual recognition event.  These eleven 5th-graders from Marylin Avenue Elementary School were selected for being model students with strong academic accomplishments. The Pedrozzi Young Scholar Program promotes equity in opportunity for high achieving students by providing support throughout their middle and high school years. With the addition of this cohort, Pedrozzi Young Scholars will be represented throughout the Livermore School District in grades six through twelve.

2022 Pedrozzi Young Scholars: Elvy Beltrán, Donovan Gonzalez, Justin González, Red Kenzo De Vera, Zareena Parhar, Annia Quispe Larios, Rociel Ruiz, Dunya Saeedi, Celina Beatriz Solimen, Isaac Soltero, and Melanie Vera Caballero.

Back row, left to right: Maggie Tufts (Pedrozzi Young Scholar program manager), Heidi Robinson, Jennier Pennybacker, Eric Kishi (5th-grade teachers) and Principal Dana Taylor, Donovan Gonzalez (student), Monica Moya (Pedrozzi Board Member), Carolyn Siegfried (Pedrozzi Executive Director). Front row, left to right (students): Melanie Vera Caballero, Dunya Saeedi, Rociel Ruiz, Zareena Parhar, Annia Quispe Larios, Celina Beatriz Solimen, Isaac Soltero, Red Kenzo De Vera, Justin Gonzalez, Elvy Beltran. (photo by John McConaghy)